top of page

Mallorca day 2 - Boquer Valley and Can Cuarassa

Yesterday was our second day here in Mallorca. Birding around the hotel in the morning was rather quiet, with 1 Great White Egret, 1 Marsh Harrier, 1 Peregrine and another unidentified falcon (I'll write about that one if I get an ID). We had planned to go down to Can Picafort and then visit Albufera, however the road south from Alcudia was closed for a bike race. Therefore, we changed plans and headed north to the Boquer Valley. It was raining heavily when we got there, so we waited in the car for a bit before heading out.

The trees as we headed up to the valley were alive with Greenfinches, quite a sight to see due to the current status of the species in the UK! As we headed up, I had my first lifer of the trip, a Mediterranean Flycatcher - recently split from Spotted Flycatcher, they have far less markings on the breast. Walking further up the valley, I caught as glimpse of red as a bird flew up off the path - Black Redstart? I looked up to where it had flown and sure it was, along with another 6!! In total I counted 17 in the valley - my first ever!

The rest of the valley was fairly quiet, bar a pair of Crag Martins, until we reached the end where the valley meets the sea. Here I managed to find 7 Black Redstarts, a White Wagtail and a Stonechat, but, best of all, a single Balearic Warbler!!

On the walk back, around 50 Song Thrushes flew out from the bushes they had been feeding in. I also spotted 4 Serin.

On the way back to the hotel, me and mum got dropped off at Can Cuarassa. Here it was rather quiet, bar 3 Marbled Ducks that were sleeping on the bank. I read one ring before they took to the water. While they were in the water I managed to read another before they flew off onto another pool.

I have sent back information for these rings, but according to Mallorca Natural Tours on Twitter they are from the re-introduction project at Albufera and were released last Friday. Interesting to see them spreading up the coast!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page