top of page

#BigGardenBirdwatch 2018

This weekend is the RSPB Big Garden Birdwatch, a nationwide event where hundreds of thousands of people (half a million in 2017!) count the birds visiting their garden. It provides lots of very useful data for the RSPB, due to the scale of the survey. It is very easy to take part, and if you haven't this year I would recommend doing so in 2019.

During my hour watch this morning, I counted 10 bird species in the garden - unfortunately this was rather low compared to what I normally see, but it will still add to the RSPB's database. Of the birds I saw, I was most pleased about the Coal Tits as I don't see them too frequently in the garden.

As well as the birds in the garden, there were also two Grey Squirrels - nowhere near as nice as the Red Squirrel I saw on my skiing holiday, but still fun to watch. There used to be Reds in my town, but now they have all been replaced by Greys unfortunately.

Another interesting thing I noticed on my birdwatch was that the birds in the garden were not only attracted by the food we have out - I also saw two Woodpigeons drinking from the small pond beside the window. Unfortunately, the view isn't great and so it was very hard to get pictures....

I hope that your Big Garden Birdwatch has been or will be enjoyable, and if you didn't take part this year make sure you do in 2019!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page