top of page

Lindisfarne: days 1&2

This half term, my family are staying 6 nights in a small cottage on the Northumberland coast. One of several small stone buildings, it is tucked away behind a large expanse on mudflats known as Budle Bay. This is part of the amazing coastal habitat in the Lindisfarne area - other sites include Fenham Flats, Stag Rocks, the Snook, Holy Island and more. The rest of the family are using the time to catch up with work or, in the case of my brother, revise for exams. I, however, have very little to do, giving me freedom to spend the week birding in the local area.

After arriving after sundown on Sunday, I was the first person awake on Monday morning. I took the opportunity not to sleep in, instead deciding to set up the scope in my room and seeing what I could spot out on the mudflats. Despite the tide being out, meaning most the waterfowl were very distant, I still managed to spot plenty of birds. These included a 'vortex' of 9 Shoveler, (their collective noun coming from the way they spin when upending) 102+ Oystercatchers (excuse my 'scenic' photo, they were very distant), 2 Grey Herons and plenty of Wigeon and Teal. This kept me amused for an hour, until other members of the family awoke and it was time to get ready for the day.

After we all got ready, I walked along the sea path to Stag Rocks, south of Budle Bay. This is a site I had heard lots about, but had never visited. The rocks were alive with waders - one species in particular being Purple Sandpiper. Stag Rocks hosts an impressive flock on these lovely birds, which were far too quick for me to count - though I estimated there were 40+ present. I also saw two Grey Plovers which I hadn't came across before (the furthest left and right birds in the below picture).

Another highlight from Stag Rocks was far too distant for photos - 600+ meters away on the sea were two Long-tailed Ducks. Having only seen my first on Saturday I was very pleased to pick these out amongst the waves.

The afternoon was the family's break from work - we paid a visit to Ross Back Sands, a beautiful beach not far north of where we are staying. Unfortunately there were very few birds, the only two species on the shore being a single Herring Gull and a small group of Sanderling. However as we walked along the dunes I picked up on a group of Common Scoter. Amongst them was a pale bird which could have been a Long-tailed Duck, however I hadn't brought the scope with me and it was too distant to tell with only binoculars.

When we got home it was almost dark, so I put away my birding kit for the day. We planned out the next day - the morning was the family's work time, and so I decided to go out to Fenham Flats, another large mudflat between Holy Island and the mainland. In the afternoon we would go on a trip to Berwick-Upon-Tweed.

I got up this morning excited for today's trip, and got my kit ready for Fenham Flats. My dad dropped me off at Elwick, from where I walked down to the shore. Luckily there was a hide looking over the mudflats which I didn't know about - if it hadn't been there I definitely wouldn't have been able to stay for long as it was raining hard! In the two hours I spent there - again in not ideal low tide conditions - I counted massive numbers of birds. Highlights for me were 235+ Curlew, 198 Shelduck, 12 hrota Brent Geese, 16 Grey Plover and a Little Egret. Coming from an inland town it was insane to see so many waterbirds in one area - I get exited if I have a group of 20 Teal on my patch! It was a real treat to see.

Though I was originally disappointed that I would have to spend the afternoon walking around a small town on the coast, the trip to Berwick was surprisingly enjoyable. I hadn't been expecting to see much, and therefore only brought my binos - however there were plenty of birds on the Tweed. a group of Goldeneye were feeding in the river, while a flock of 58 Redshank were huddled together roosting on a ledge of the sea wall. Oysterctachers, pushed up by the high tide, covered the golf course, and a Grey Wagtail was picking food out from amongst the rocks and seaweed on the shore. A reminder that wildlife can be found anywhere!

On the way back home I was dropped off at a track that led down to Budle Bay, the idea to count some of the waterfowl on the mudflats. As the night drew in, I stood at the edge of the salt marsh, dwarfed by the large expanse of mud. As I was counting the waders I heard a faint honking noise. It grew louder, and I turned around to see a huge flock of hundreds of geese flying towards the mudflats from the north. Soon they were coming in from every direction, and what was once quiet was alive with noise. The sky was full of geese, each a small speck in my binoculars' vision, but collectively a swarm of life. It was an amazing sight - I was filled with joy. The light was failing and the birds were too distant for me to see the details of each, and therefore I failed to identify them - but I suspect they were Pink-footed.

I was following a path down the edge of the salt marsh to see if I could get a better view of the geese now resting on the mud when I heard a gunshot, loud and clear, echoing across the bay. I was automatically filled with adrenaline, caveman instincts preparing me for fight or flight. Another shot rang out across the bay. I was, by this time, extremely cautious. It was getting dark - I kept my head low and returned to where I left my coat and notebook. In total four shots were fired before I hurriedly left.

I have since done some research about shooting rules - it is still duck and goose season, however this was on a National Nature Reserve - surely it is illegal?

However I am still entranced by the amazing spectacle of seeing these geese arrive to their roost. I will be going back to the point where I watched them - within walking distance of the cottage - in the morning to see them leave roost, and in the evenings when I can. More updates on the trip to come in the next few days!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page